Gift
Member
-ship
Beanpole
Institute of Contemporary Arts

Beanpole, dir. Kantemir Balagov, Russia 2019, 137 min., Russian with English subtitles

1945, Leningrad. World War II has devastated the city, demolishing its buildings and leaving its citizens in tatters, physically and mentally. Although the siege – one of the worst in history – is finally over, life and death continue their battle in the wreckage that remains. Two young women, Iya and Masha, search for meaning and hope in the struggle to rebuild their lives amongst the ruins.

Russian filmmaker Kantemir Balagov’s hypnotic and rigorous third feature confirms his impressive capacity to deliver strong, accurate and delicate portraits of individuals in past and contemporary Russia.
 
06:45 pm
Sat, 12 Oct 2019
Cinema 2
04:00 pm
Sun, 13 Oct 2019
Cinema 2
06:20 pm
Tue, 15 Oct 2019
Cinema 1
09:00 pm
Thu, 17 Oct 2019
Cinema 1
08:45 pm
Fri, 18 Oct 2019
Cinema 2
04:30 pm
Sat, 19 Oct 2019
Cinema 1
06:25 pm
Sun, 20 Oct 2019
Cinema 2
08:45 pm
Wed, 23 Oct 2019
Cinema 1
04:00 pm
Thu, 24 Oct 2019
Cinema 1
08:45 pm
Tue, 29 Oct 2019
Cinema 2
01:45 pm
Wed, 30 Oct 2019
Cinema 1
02:10 pm
Sun, 03 Nov 2019
Cinema 2
06:45 pm
Thu, 07 Nov 2019
Cinema 2
03:35 pm
Fri, 08 Nov 2019
Cinema 1
08:50 pm
Sun, 10 Nov 2019
Cinema 2
06:20 pm
Thu, 14 Nov 2019
Cinema 2
06:15 pm
Sat, 16 Nov 2019
Cinema 2
02:40 pm
Sun, 17 Nov 2019
Cinema 2
05:10 pm
Wed, 20 Nov 2019
Cinema 2
12:40 pm
Wed, 27 Nov 2019
Cinema 2
12:30 pm
Thu, 28 Nov 2019
Cinema 1

£13 Full, £11 Concs/Green, £7 Blue Members. 

Tuesdays + weekday matinees: £8 Full, £5 Concs/Blue/Green Members.

All films are ad-free and 18+ unless otherwise stated. Groups are advised to arrive early as seating is unallocated.

Red Membership includes free access to all programmes for £16.66 / month.