We’re introducing Night Mode … Try it out with the sun/moon icon at the top left. Or change font settings with the ‘A’ to make the site work for you.
Got it
ICA is closed from the 30 May – 2 June inclusive.
0 / 256
The Breadwinner
Institute of Contemporary Arts
The Breadwinner, Dir. Nora Twomey, Canada / Ireland / Luxembourg, 2017, 94 min.

Nora Twomey’s animated film The Breadwinner, based on the eponymous children’s novel by Deborah Ellis, tells the story of an eleven-year-old Afghani girl named Parvana, living in Taliban-ruled Kabul. When Parvana’s father, a street vendor and a former teacher who lost his leg during the Soviet-Afghan war, is arrested for offending a temperamental member of the Taliban, Parvana must dress as a boy to secure money and food for supporting her family, since girls are not entitled to go out in public unaccompanied. Parvana teams up with another female classmate, Shauzia, who she finds is also dressed as a boy, and a youthful tale of female empowerment, hope and the harsh realities of terror unfolds. Together, the two heroines, disguised as boys, take on hard labour jobs. Shauzia aims to earn enough money to escape her abusive father and Parvana saves to pay the bribe required to get her father out of jail and then sets off on a mission to do so.  
 
03:00 pm
Fri, 25 May 2018
Cinema 2
08:45 pm
Fri, 25 May 2018
Cinema 2
12:15 pm
Sat, 26 May 2018
Cinema 1
06:20 pm
Sat, 26 May 2018
Cinema 2
02:20 pm
Sun, 27 May 2018
Cinema 1
08:50 pm
Sun, 27 May 2018
Cinema 2
03:00 pm
Tue, 29 May 2018
Cinema 2
05:00 pm
Tue, 29 May 2018
Cinema 2
04:00 pm
Wed, 30 May 2018
Cinema 1
08:25 pm
Wed, 30 May 2018
Cinema 2
04:25 pm
Thu, 31 May 2018
Cinema 1
08:20 pm
Thu, 31 May 2018
Cinema 2
02:15 pm
Fri, 01 Jun 2018
Cinema 1
12:10 pm
Sat, 02 Jun 2018
Cinema 1
12:10 pm
Sun, 03 Jun 2018
Cinema 1
01:50 pm
Tue, 05 Jun 2018
Cinema 1
04:20 pm
Wed, 06 Jun 2018
Cinema 1

All films are ad-free and 18+ unless otherwise stated, and start with a 10 min. curated selection of trailers.

Red Members gain unlimited access to all exhibitions, films, talks, performances and Cinema 3.
Join today for £20/month.