Burning
Institute of Contemporary Arts

Burning, dir. Lee Chang-dong, South Korea, 2018, 148 min., Korean with English subtitles

Jong-su (Yoo Ah-in), an isolated young man from a broken family, meets beguiling Hae-mi (Jeon Jong-seo) in the streets of a densely chaotic South Korean city. He can’t recall having met before, but she assures him they are long-lost childhood friends. Back at her cramped apartment, the two embark on a short-lived romance before Hae-mi abruptly jets off on holiday, leaving Jong-su to look after her cat, which is strangely nowhere to be seen. When Hae-mi returns from her travels with a wealthy, charismatic new friend Ben (Steven Yeun), Jong-su’s distrust of the newcomer grows as the film’s uneasy narrative menacingly unravels.
 
08:45 pm
Fri, 08 Feb 2019
Cinema 2
08:45 pm
Sat, 09 Feb 2019
Cinema 2
01:45 pm
Sun, 10 Feb 2019
Cinema 2
08:45 pm
Sun, 10 Feb 2019
Cinema 2
06:10 pm
Tue, 12 Feb 2019
Cinema 1
08:45 pm
Tue, 12 Feb 2019
Cinema 2
08:45 pm
Wed, 13 Feb 2019
Cinema 2
08:45 pm
Thu, 14 Feb 2019
Cinema 2
08:30 pm
Sat, 16 Feb 2019
Cinema 1
08:10 pm
Sun, 17 Feb 2019
Cinema 1
02:45 pm
Tue, 19 Feb 2019
Cinema 1
05:25 pm
Tue, 19 Feb 2019
Cinema 2
08:30 pm
Wed, 20 Feb 2019
Cinema 1
03:40 pm
Thu, 21 Feb 2019
Cinema 1
12:45 pm
Fri, 22 Feb 2019
Cinema 1
06:00 pm
Fri, 22 Feb 2019
Cinema 1
06:00 pm
Sat, 23 Feb 2019
Cinema 1
06:15 pm
Sun, 24 Feb 2019
Cinema 1
06:00 pm
Tue, 26 Feb 2019
Cinema 2
12:30 pm
Wed, 27 Feb 2019
Cinema 1
08:10 pm
Wed, 27 Feb 2019
Cinema 1
06:00 pm
Thu, 28 Feb 2019
Cinema 1
03:00 pm
Fri, 01 Mar 2019
Cinema 1
06:00 pm
Sat, 02 Mar 2019
Cinema 2
01:20 pm
Sun, 03 Mar 2019
Cinema 1
08:25 pm
Sun, 03 Mar 2019
Cinema 2
03:30 pm
Tue, 05 Mar 2019
Cinema 2
03:30 pm
Wed, 06 Mar 2019
Cinema 1
06:20 pm
Thu, 07 Mar 2019
Cinema 1
01:20 pm
Fri, 08 Mar 2019
Cinema 1
01:00 pm
Sat, 09 Mar 2019
Cinema 1
01:00 pm
Sun, 10 Mar 2019
Cinema 1
01:20 pm
Tue, 12 Mar 2019
Cinema 1
08:40 pm
Wed, 13 Mar 2019
Cinema 2
01:20 pm
Thu, 14 Mar 2019
Cinema 1
01:45 pm
Sat, 16 Mar 2019
Cinema 2
03:00 pm
Wed, 20 Mar 2019
Cinema 1
01:50 pm
Thu, 21 Mar 2019
Cinema 2
01:20 pm
Fri, 29 Mar 2019
Cinema 1

All films are ad-free and 18+ unless otherwise stated. Groups are advised to arrive early as seating is unallocated.

Red Membership includes free access to all programmes for £16.66 / month.