We’re introducing Night Mode … Try it out with the sun/moon icon at the top left. Or change font settings with the ‘A’ to make the site work for you.
Got it
ICA is closed from the 30 May – 2 June inclusive.
0 / 256
Jeune Femme
Institute of Contemporary Arts
Jeune Femme, Dir. Léonor Serraille, France, 2017, 98 mins, French language

First-time filmmaker Léonor Serraille and the dazzling Laetitia Dosch burst onto the scene with Jeune Femme, a raucous and playful portrait of a woman in her early 30s in Paris. Following in the footsteps of Frances Ha and Fleabag, it’s a sometimes heart-breaking, often hilarious and always relatable nod to the chaos and candour of modern life.
 
Neurotic and manic, bold and magnetic, Paula (Dosch) is a muddle of contradictions. Fresh from an unceremonious dumping by her boyfriend of 10 years, she finds herself wandering the streets of Paris – jobless, homeless and single – with no idea of what life holds for her next. At 31 years old, with little to show for it but a kidnapped cat and a sense of adventure, she sets out to reinvent herself – new job, new friends, new life – and finds that these things never do come easily.
 
Testament to the talent of its nearly all-female filmmaking crew, Jeune Femme picked up the coveted Caméra d’Or prize for best first feature at the Cannes Film Festival 2017. Anarchic, complicated and undeniably charming, this is the French hot-mess heroine we’ve long been waiting for.
 
01:45 pm
Fri, 18 May 2018
Cinema 1
08:45 pm
Fri, 18 May 2018
Cinema 1
04:05 pm
Sat, 19 May 2018
Cinema 2
08:45 pm
Sat, 19 May 2018
Cinema 1
02:00 pm
Sun, 20 May 2018
Cinema 2
08:50 pm
Sun, 20 May 2018
Cinema 1
06:25 pm
Tue, 22 May 2018
Cinema 1
06:25 pm
Wed, 23 May 2018
Cinema 2
04:15 pm
Thu, 24 May 2018
Cinema 2
06:25 pm
Thu, 24 May 2018
Cinema 2
06:50 pm
Fri, 25 May 2018
Cinema 2
08:30 pm
Sat, 26 May 2018
Cinema 1
08:45 pm
Tue, 29 May 2018
Cinema 2
04:30 pm
Wed, 30 May 2018
Cinema 2
06:25 pm
Thu, 31 May 2018
Cinema 2
12:15 pm
Sat, 02 Jun 2018
Cinema 2
12:15 pm
Sun, 03 Jun 2018
Cinema 2

All films are ad-free and 18+ unless otherwise stated, and start with a 10 min. curated selection of trailers.

Red Members gain unlimited access to all exhibitions, films, talks, performances and Cinema 3.
Join today for £20/month.