Gift
Member
-ship
Stones Have Laws
Institute of Contemporary Arts

Stones Have Laws (Dee Sitonu a Weti), Dirs. Lonnie van Brummelen, Siebren de Haan and Tolin Erwin Alexander, Netherlands / Suriname 2018, 100 min., Saamaka, Okanisi and Dutch with English subtitles

Stones Have Laws (Dee Sitonu a Weti) is an immersive initiation into the life of a Maroon community in the former Dutch colony of Suriname. Combining stories of African ancestral traditions and escaped slavery with enacted contemporary rituals, the film explores how the community’s powerful ties to the land have become endangered as industries threaten to devastate the region through deforestation and mining.

Co-directors Lonnie van Brummelen, Siebren de Haan and Tolin Erwin Alexander closely involved the community in the development of the project, which was written using an experimental process of collective scripting. The result is a unique cinematic form that bridges filmmaking, poetry and theatre.

Stones Have Laws was presented as part of FRAMES of REPRESENTATION 2019 and is distributed by ICA CINEMA. It is now available for theatrical bookings.
 
06:30 pm
Fri, 09 Aug 2019
Cinema 1
06:30 pm
Sat, 10 Aug 2019
Cinema 2
06:30 pm
Sun, 11 Aug 2019
Cinema 2
06:30 pm
Tue, 13 Aug 2019
Cinema 2
06:35 pm
Wed, 14 Aug 2019
Cinema 2
06:35 pm
Thu, 15 Aug 2019
Cinema 2
02:35 pm
Sun, 18 Aug 2019
Cinema 2
06:35 pm
Tue, 20 Aug 2019
Cinema 2
05:45 pm
Thu, 22 Aug 2019
Cinema 2
02:20 pm
Fri, 23 Aug 2019
Cinema 1
02:25 pm
Thu, 29 Aug 2019
Cinema 2

£13 Full, £11 Concs/Green, £7 Blue Members. 

Tuesdays + weekday matinees: £8 Full, £5 Concs/Blue/Green Members.

Screenings will be preceded by a video introduction by the film directors.

All films are ad-free and 18+ unless otherwise stated. Groups are advised to arrive early as seating is unallocated.

Red Membership includes free access to all programmes for £16.66 / month.

Download PDF