We’re introducing Night Mode … Try it out with the sun/moon icon at the top left. Or change font settings with the ‘A’ to make the site work for you.
Got it
ICA is closed from the 30 May – 2 June inclusive.
0 / 256
The Image Book
Institute of Contemporary Arts
The Image Book, Dir. Jean-Luc Godard, France/Switzerland, 2018, 85 mins, English, Arabic and French with English subtitles

Four years in the making, Jean-Luc Godard’s The Image Book is almost without narrative constraints, akin to the series of collage films of his epic Histoire(s) du cinéma (1988–98). This bracing and confrontational essay in five parts absorbs clips from cinema and reportage, and examines themes that have preoccupied the auteur for decades: emotion stunted by capitalism; the persistence of violence and war; the flattening of language by advertising; and the media’s dehumanisation portrayals of the Middle East.

Bursts of narrative spoken by Godard himself span philosophical debate and political ideology, and rupture any expectations of audio-visual logic. Erasing the distinction between the fiction films he cites – which include Jean Vigo’s L’Atalante, Gus Van Sant’s Elephant and many of Godard’s own – and newsreels and internet clips, The Image Book positions the moving image as both investigator and proof of the human capacity for horror.
 
03:10 pm
Fri, 07 Dec 2018
Cinema 2
05:55 pm
Sat, 08 Dec 2018
Cinema 2
04:00 pm
Sun, 09 Dec 2018
Cinema 2
04:50 pm
Sat, 15 Dec 2018
Cinema 2
05:00 pm
Thu, 20 Dec 2018
Cinema 2
02:10 pm
Sat, 22 Dec 2018
Cinema 2
01:00 pm
Thu, 27 Dec 2018
Cinema 1
02:10 pm
Fri, 28 Dec 2018
Cinema 2
06:35 pm
Wed, 02 Jan 2019
Cinema 2
12:05 pm
Sun, 06 Jan 2019
Cinema 1

All films are ad-free and 18+ unless otherwise stated, and start with a 10 min. curated selection of trailers.

Red Members gain unlimited access to all exhibitions, films, talks, performances and Cinema 3.
Join today for £20/month.