Become an ICA Member or gift it to someone you love
0 / 256
All Light, Everywhere
Institute of Contemporary Arts
August 2022
All Light, Everywhere, dir. Theo Anthony, USA 2021, 109 min., English


Objectivity, or the lack of it, has been a key talking point in nonfiction cinema since Robert Flaherty’s Nanook of the North (1922). Theo Anthony’s third feature All Light, Everywhere reevaluates this notion and its interconnected meanings in a contemporary setting, drawing connections between colonial photographic methodologies of the 19th century and modern police technologies in Baltimore. Recent history and dramatic events have lent the film an even greater political pertinence and prompted larger discussions on the role of the police in our communities.

As spectators, we are urged to consider – as in the case of police body cameras, for instance – what is subjective or objective in any given viewpoint. Have smartphones, in the hands of bystanders, allowed for a more democratic holding-to-account of police brutality? All Light, Everywhere questions and reimagines the very idea of the ‘objective lens’, positioning the camera as a weapon for both the oppressors and the oppressed.
 
 
04:10 pm
Fri, 22 Jul 2022
Cinema 1
06:20 pm
Fri, 22 Jul 2022
Cinema 1
04:10 pm
Sat, 23 Jul 2022
Cinema 1
06:20 pm
Sat, 23 Jul 2022
Cinema 1
04:10 pm
Sun, 24 Jul 2022
Cinema 1
06:20 pm
Sun, 24 Jul 2022
Cinema 1
04:10 pm
Tue, 26 Jul 2022
Cinema 1
06:20 pm
Tue, 26 Jul 2022
Cinema 1
04:10 pm
Wed, 27 Jul 2022
Cinema 1
09:10 pm
Wed, 27 Jul 2022
Cinema 1
04:10 pm
Thu, 28 Jul 2022
Cinema 1
06:20 pm
Thu, 28 Jul 2022
Cinema 1
06:25 pm
Fri, 29 Jul 2022
Cinema 2
04:30 pm
Sat, 30 Jul 2022
Cinema 2
08:50 pm
Sun, 31 Jul 2022
Cinema 2
04:10 pm
Tue, 02 Aug 2022
Cinema 2
08:30 pm
Wed, 03 Aug 2022
Cinema 1
06:20 pm
Thu, 04 Aug 2022
Cinema 2
02:35 pm
Fri, 05 Aug 2022
Cinema 1
02:45 pm
Sun, 07 Aug 2022
Cinema 1
12:45 pm
Thu, 11 Aug 2022
Cinema 1
12:20 pm
Sun, 14 Aug 2022
Cinema 1
02:20 pm
Tue, 16 Aug 2022
Cinema 1
Stream on demand from 12 August on Cinema 3

All films are ad-free and 18+ unless otherwise stated.

Red Members gain unlimited access to all exhibitions, films, talks, performances and Cinema 3.
Join today for £20/month.

Essay