0 / 256
Blind Ambition
Institute of Contemporary Arts
September 2022
Blind Ambition, dir. Robert Coe & Warwick Ross, Australia 2021, 97 min., English, 12A


Co-directors Warwick Ross and Robert Coe follow a quartet of refugees-turned-sommeliers on an unlikely journey from South Africa to France to compete in the World Wine Tasting Championship.

A decade or so ago, Joseph Dhafana, Marlvin Gwese, Tinashe Nyamudoka and Pardon Taguzu were among thousands of young men who fled troubled Zimbabwe to seek refuge in neighbouring South Africa. Finding work as waiters, they soon discovered a taste for the complex subtleties of wine, learned their trade, and rose to become sommeliers in some of Cape Town’s finest restaurants. Ross and Coe (Red Obsession) follow the passionate foursome as they enter the wine-tasting Olympics, and drag it, kicking and screaming, into the New World.
 
02:55 pm
Fri, 12 Aug 2022
Cinema 2
06:50 pm
Fri, 12 Aug 2022
Cinema 2
02:20 pm
Sat, 13 Aug 2022
Cinema 1
06:50 pm
Sat, 13 Aug 2022
Cinema 2
12:15 pm
Sun, 14 Aug 2022
Cinema 2
08:40 pm
Sun, 14 Aug 2022
Cinema 2
08:40 pm
Tue, 16 Aug 2022
Cinema 2
02:15 pm
Wed, 17 Aug 2022
Cinema 2
06:40 pm
Wed, 17 Aug 2022
Cinema 2
08:40 pm
Thu, 18 Aug 2022
Cinema 2
04:30 pm
Fri, 19 Aug 2022
Cinema 2
02:25 pm
Sun, 21 Aug 2022
Cinema 2
04:25 pm
Tue, 23 Aug 2022
Cinema 2
02:25 pm
Thu, 25 Aug 2022
Cinema 2

All films are ad-free and 18+ unless otherwise stated, and start with a 10 min. curated selection of trailers.

Red Members gain unlimited access to all exhibitions, films, talks, performances and Cinema 3.
Join today for £20/month.