We’re introducing Night Mode … Try it out with the sun/moon icon at the top left. Or change font settings with the ‘A’ to make the site work for you.
Got it
ICA is closed from the 30 May – 2 June inclusive.
0 / 256
The Receptionist
Institute of Contemporary Arts
The Receptionist, Dir. Jenny Lu, UK / Taiwan, 2016, 102 min., English, Mandarin, Taiwanese with English subtitles

The Receptionist follows Tina, a Taiwanese graduate searching for work in the aftermath of the 2008 financial crisis. When her white, live-in boyfriend loses his job she takes the only position offered to her, as a receptionist at a massage parlour. Jenny Lu’s ensemble drama confronts the harshness of migrant experience, sex work and Western fetishization of Asian women while keeping its focus on the characters’ internal worlds and how they support each other amid persistent violence. The Receptionist is an intimate portrait of women objectified and ignored by the outside world who choose to make family among themselves.
 
03:10 pm
Fri, 20 Jul 2018
Cinema 2
08:30 pm
Sun, 22 Jul 2018
Cinema 2
04:35 pm
Tue, 24 Jul 2018
Cinema 2
05:00 pm
Wed, 25 Jul 2018
Cinema 2
04:40 pm
Thu, 26 Jul 2018
Cinema 2
04:35 pm
Sat, 28 Jul 2018
Cinema 2
02:45 pm
Sun, 29 Jul 2018
Cinema 2
04:30 pm
Wed, 01 Aug 2018
Cinema 2
04:45 pm
Fri, 03 Aug 2018
Cinema 1
12:15 pm
Sun, 05 Aug 2018
Cinema 2
02:15 pm
Wed, 08 Aug 2018
Cinema 2

All films are ad-free and 18+ unless otherwise stated, and start with a 10 min. curated selection of trailers.

Red Members gain unlimited access to all exhibitions, films, talks, performances and Cinema 3.
Join today for £20/month.