Become an ICA Member or gift it to someone you love
0 / 256
Happening
Institute of Contemporary Arts
May 2022
Happening (L’événement), dir. Audrey Diwan, France 2021, 99 min., French with English subtitles, 15


Adapted from Annie Ernaux’s autobiographical novel about a young woman faced with a life-changing dilemma in 1960s France, the gripping second feature from director Audrey Diwan (Losing It) won the Golden Lion Award at the Venice International Film Festival. 

France, 1963. Anne (Anamaria Vartolomei) is a smart 22-year-old student with a promising future ahead of her. But her life is turned upside down when she becomes pregnant – and faces a physical and emotional battle to access an illegal abortion in a society that looks down on both female desire and sexual liberty. Happening may be based on Ernaux’s compelling novel, but Diwan’s second feature is an intimately cinematic experience – with Vartolomei compelling in the role of a young woman faced with a decision that could come to define her life.
 
02:10 pm
Fri, 22 Apr 2022
Cinema 1
09:00 pm
Fri, 22 Apr 2022
Cinema 1
12:30 pm
Sat, 23 Apr 2022
Cinema 1
07:00 pm
Sat, 23 Apr 2022
Cinema 2
01:15 pm
Sun, 24 Apr 2022
Cinema 2
07:20 pm
Sun, 24 Apr 2022
Cinema 2
02:00 pm
Tue, 26 Apr 2022
Cinema 2
06:40 pm
Tue, 26 Apr 2022
Cinema 2
02:10 pm
Wed, 27 Apr 2022
Cinema 1
06:20 pm
Wed, 27 Apr 2022
Cinema 2
02:45 pm
Thu, 28 Apr 2022
Cinema 2
06:15 pm
Thu, 28 Apr 2022
Cinema 1
08:45 pm
Sat, 30 Apr 2022
Cinema 1
09:25 pm
Sun, 01 May 2022
Cinema 1
05:50 pm
Tue, 03 May 2022
Cinema 2
06:45 pm
Wed, 04 May 2022
Cinema 1
02:40 pm
Fri, 06 May 2022
Cinema 1
06:30 pm
Sat, 07 May 2022
Cinema 2
02:20 pm
Sun, 08 May 2022
Cinema 2
05:40 pm
Tue, 10 May 2022
Cinema 1
04:20 pm
Tue, 17 May 2022
Cinema 1
09:00 pm
Wed, 18 May 2022
Cinema 2
02:00 pm
Fri, 20 May 2022
Cinema 1
02:15 pm
Sat, 21 May 2022
Cinema 1
01:30 pm
Sun, 22 May 2022
Cinema 2
£13 Full, £11 Concessions, £6.50 Green/Blue Members

Weekday matinees: £8 Full, £6 Concessions, £4 Green/Blue Members

Tuesday matinees: £6, £3 Green/Blue Members

All films are ad-free and 18+ unless otherwise stated.

Red Members gain unlimited access to all exhibitions, films, talks, performances and Cinema 3.
Join today for £20/month.